EU finally standardised their national ID cards

Today, June 17th, Bulgaria, last country in the European Union, started issuing biometric identity cards, finally fulfilling Regulation 2019/1157.

Other European neighbourhood countries with their ID cards standardized to the European standard include:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Iceland
  • Kosovo
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Norway
  • Ukraine
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • San Marino
  • Vatican

All these good neighbours ease the movement of persons at the external border crossing points of the Schengen Area.